Critical Care Medicine Division

The Critical Care Medicine (CCM) Division in the Department of Anesthesiology  participates in the care of critically ill patients in the modern and well-equipped surgical, cardiothoracic, and nuerological intensive care units (‘ICUs’) at Banner University Medical Center-Tucson.  The CCM/ICU team consists of faculty anesthesiologists, fellows, residents, and medical students.  Anesthesiology residents typically spend 3 months on the CCM/ICU service during the CA-2 and CA-3 residency period.  The Anesthesiology CCM service was established in 1975 by Charles W. Otto, MD, FCCM, Professor of Anesthesiology, and Associate Professor of Medicine. Currently Elizabeth, MD is the Director of Critical Care Medicine service.  Our first fellow in the ACGME-approved Critical Care Medicine fellowship was Assistant Professor Ryan W. Matika, MD and was named “Teacher of the Year” by graduating residents at a departmental event in June, 2012.